Photography of every day life

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what my talent or skill is. What I am good at. Honestly, I can’t really pin point any one thing. There are so many things I enjoy doing but not really one or even few that I am great at. One thing I have thoroughly enjoyed doing over the last year while being home with the girls is taking pictures and playing with photo editing. I have considered reaching out to friends to see if they would be interested in doing a session to start a portfolio. My idea though is not so much portrait photography. I want to just follow a family around for a day and take random, unstaged pictures of them simply living life.  I think these are the memories I hold most dear and the pictures I enjoy the most when I look at all the ones I have taken of the girls. I wanted to share a small portfolio of pics that I have taken and in some cases edited. Maybe some day, when life slows down a bit (ha!), I will have more of an opportunity to pursue this interest. In the mean time, enjoy and I welcome thoughts and feedback!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe Coleman
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 22:56:03

    Great pictures, Jen! What kind of camera are you using? And…a huge congratulations on baby #3.

    Reply

  2. Bonnie
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 23:07:18

    Jen, your pictures are precious, and I think if I didn’t drag my camera around with me as much as I did, I would pay to have someone do the type of photography you are referencing. I love the idea of it being called….”A day in the life of the Bowers’ family”…….I think you should go for it. You have found your knack with taking awesome pictures…now get paid for something you enjoy! I am a supporter of your idea! Hugs to you and the family!

    Reply

  3. Bonnie
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 23:09:05

    And…very cool idea to blog….have fun with it! I think one of your talents that you undermine is your writing….you do awesome! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Rachel
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 05:26:16

    You definitely have a talent for photography! Some of it is making the shot itself, but more importantly I think is that you can look and see what are the moments that are ‘just right’, because I think that is what makes us love a picture. I think creating a portfolio is a great idea – go for it! (PS – It probably helps that you are photographing such gorgeous kids!:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

